Award Season Has Begun!

24 hours until the CMAs air live from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, TN on ABC. The CMAs are bringing back Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood to host the show…I honestly could pass on Carries humor, but I’m not in charge of the show am I!? I’m sure with the election about to happen, we will have plenty of jokes to start out with. How about Brad coming out with his Binders full of women??…just sayin’.

Performances by: Kenny Chesney, Miranda Lambert, Kelly Clarkson & Vince Gill, Faith Hill & Tim McGraw, Zac Brown Band, Hunter Hayes, Brantley Gilbert, Luke Bryan, The Band Perry, Eric Church, Brad Paisley, Carrie Underwood, Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley and Little Big Town.

Lets take a look at the nominees. My choices are in bold.

Entertainer of the Year – Jason has had an amazing year and I would love to see him get the icing on the cake…if Taylor gets it – well, the world won’t end, since she won it last year.

Jason Aldean
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton – winner
Taylor Swift

Female Vocalist of the Year – Why is Kelly nominated? That’s what everyone is asking..well, you will get to see her perform her new country hit -“Don’t Rush” with Vince Gill during the show and she had a smash with Jason Aldean and Reba.. I’d like to see Miranda get this again, but I have a feeling Carrie will take it away with her recent album release.

Kelly Clarkson
Miranda Lambert – winner
Martina McBride
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year – I think Luke Bryan deserves it this year. Just plain and simple.

Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Blake Shelton – winner
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year – tough call here. I think Lady Antebellum will take it with their successful “Own The Night” World Tour.

The Band Perry
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town – winner
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year – Sugarland is usually the go-to for this award since they kicked out Brooks & Dunn, but Sugarland has been MIA on the radio scene. They have been touring and Jennifer Nettles was on “Duets” this summer but I’m hoping for a shift in this award soon. I’d love for Thompson Square to evolve more. They put on an amazing show and have some great songs. I’m throwing an arrow in the dark and saying Sugarland for this award, again..

Big & Rich
Love and Theft
The Civil Wars
Thompson Square – winner

New Artist of the Year – This award is also a shoot in the  dark. Each of these artists have done pretty well this year. Lee Brice has had some hit singles; Hunter Hayes had his #1 with “Wanted”; Love & Theft also had their hit “Angel Eyes”, but I don’t see them taking this award. I think they still need to grow as artists. Thompson Square is still growing as well. Brantley Gilbert is kicking off his headlining tour…I’m quite surprised..not really a fan, but I see him or Hunter taking this.

Lee Brice
Brantley Gilbert
Hunter Hayes – winner
Love and Theft
Thompson Square

Album of the Year –  Eric Church – “Chief”…so hard to pick!

Luke Bryan, Tailgates and Tanlines
Eric Church, Chief – winner
Miranda Lambert, Four the Record
Dierks Bentley, Home
Lady Antebellum, Own the Night

Song of the Year (Award goes to songwriters) – Hands down – “Over You” – beautifully written and knowing what it’s about just makes your heartache.

Eli Young Band, “Even if It Breaks Your Heart” – written by Will Hoge and Eric Paslay
Blake Shelton, “God Gave Me You” – written by Dave Barnes
Dierks Bentley, “Home” – written by Dierks Bentley, Dan Wilson and Brett Beavers
Miranda Lambert, “Over You” – written by Miranda Lambert and Blake Shelton – winner
Eric Church, “Springsteen” – written by Eric Church, Jeff Hyde and Ryan Tyndell

Single of the Year (Award goes to artist and producer) – I want to say “God Gave Me You” but I think Eric will win this with “Springsteen”

Jason Aldean, “Dirt Road Anthem”
Blake Shelton, “God Gave Me You”
Dierks Bentley, “Home”
Little Big Town, “Pontoon” – winner
Eric Church, “Springsteen”

Musical Event of the Year – Kenny & Tim. They toured together and honestly, I don’t recall hearing any of the other nominees besides Taylor because of the Hunger Games.

“Dixie Highway,” Alan Jackson and Zac Brown Band
“Feel Like a Rock Star,” Kenny Chesney and Tim McGraw – winner
“Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die,” Willie Nelson featuring Snoop Dogg, Kris Kristofferson and Jamey Johnson
“Safe and Sound,” Taylor Swift featuring the Civil Wars
“Stuck on You,” Lionel Richie and Darius Rucker

Music Video of the Year – Lord…between Eric and Miranda..

Eric Church, “Springsteen”
Kenny Chesney, “Come Over”
Miranda Lambert, “Over You”
Little Big Town, “Pontoon”
Toby Keith, “Red Solo Cup” – winner

Musician of the Year – yeah, about that…
Sam Bush
Paul Franklin
Dann Huff
Brent Mason
Mac McAnally – winner

See ya at the show!

The AMAs are next – Nov 18th @ 8pm and the ACAs are December 10th @ 8pm!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s